Orchestral: The Persistence Of Memory: (In Memoriam: Brian Israel) (1995) [19:30]

Written for the Cleveland Chamber Symphony. First performance: 27 February 1995, Cleveland Chamber Symphony, Edwin London, conductor, Drinko Auditorium, Cleveland State University. European premiere: 27 June 1996, Ruse Philharmonic Orchestra, Tsanko Delibozov, conductor, Philharmonic Hall, Ruse, Bulgaria.

Performances include: Piccolo Spoleto 1997, Charleston Symphony Orchestra, Donald Portnoy, guest conductor, 28 May 1997; Wooster Symphony Orchestra, Jack Gallagher, guest conductor, 15 February 1998; Contemporary Youth Orchestra (Cleveland), Regina Mushabec, cello, Eric Berken, conductor, Waetjen Auditorium, Cleveland State University, 14 December 2002.

Ruse Philharmonic Orchestra
Tsanko Delibozov, conductor
Vienna Modern Masters VMM 3036

WPRB-FM, Princeton, 22 June 2007; 14 June 2006, 30 October 2002; WCLV-FM, Cleveland, 5 November 2006; 26 January 2006; KING-FM, Seattle, 1 July 2006; WFSQ-FM, Tallahassee, FL, 12 November 2001; WCLV-FM, Cleveland, 29 July, 2000; 11 March 2000; WOMR-FM, Provincetown, MA, 3 July 1999; WFSQ-FM, Tallahassee, FL, 13 October 1999; WCLV-FM, Cleveland, 27 June 1998; WQLN-FM, Erie, 30 March 1998; WNIB-FM, Chicago, 28 June 1997; WCNY-FM, Syracuse, 11 May 1997.

{Index: Orchestral Works}

"Gallagher evokes glowing images. . . . vivid instrumental colors . . . . and turbulence rubbing shoulders with cheerfulness. There is sincerity and warmth here, plus skillful handling of the chamber orchestra."
—Donald Rosenberg, Cleveland Plain Dealer

"A fitting tribute, generous in its expression and clear in its structure."
—Stephen D. Hicken, American Record Guide

"The musical textures and sounds were unique. . . . Donald Portnoy, who has been conducting the orchestra this series, led an even-handed and moving reading."
—William Furtwangler, Charleston Post and Courier

"an attractive work, with its use of ostinato, fine orchestration and an extensive percussion part."
―Robert Hugill, Music&Vision